cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rampar
New Contributor

VLAN with IP Phones to DHCP server

Jump to solution

Hello everyone, I'm new to this so please bear with me!

We have a Windows 2003 Server with 2 scopes 10.122.143.x and 10.10.1.x.  We have 3 seperate buildings linked together, so we have 3 1224st's that we need to setup with a VLAN so that it can grab the 10.10.1.x IP's for the phones and 10.122.143.x for everything else.  I've been playing around, and I can't seem to get a grasp on how the configuration file should be setup.

I've attached it so that you guys can take a look.  What we want is

VLAN 2 to be the voice_network and VLAN 3 to be the user_network.  Right now, when I have a port left as Trunk, I can't get any DHCP address.  I have to set it up as Trunk with native being vlan 2.  I also can't pink the switch so I can't connect to it over the network, I have to use the serial cable.  Just any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Labels (1)
Tags (5)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: VLAN with IP Phones to DHCP server

Jump to solution

:

Remove the command ip host "swleh101" 10.10.1.4 by entering the command again with the no keyword in front of it like this:  no ip host "swleh101" 10.10.1.4.  That command is not needed in this design.

The command ip default-gateway 10.10.1.1 will allow you to manage the switch when you are on a different subnet because the switch will send the traffic to the default-gateway (router) to route the traffic appropriately.

To manage the ADTRAN switch you will need this in the configuration:

interface vlan 2

ip address  10.10.1.4  255.255.255.0  <--this sets the web interface IP address

no shutdown

You will not set the DNS servers on the switch.  Typically this is handled by a router, or the DHCP server.

Levi

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Jump to solution

: