Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

VLan & Routing

Jump to solution

I am new to Vlans and Routing.  Here is what I need to do:

I have a Netvanta 1335.  I set up the following Vlan:

I have the Vlan set up but I can not see it.  How do I use the routing feature on this switch to be able to see that VLAN?  The VLAN is assigned to Port 1.

Our gateway for the network is:  172.16.3.1

The netvana switch IP address is 172.16.3.7

Our Firewall/Gateway has NAT configured to resolve this VLAN

Any help would be greatly appreciated!  I work for a public school and I need this accomplished ASAP

Labels (1)
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: VLan & Routing

Jump to solution

:

Thank you for asking this question in the support community.  The document Configuring InterVLAN Routing in AOS covers this topic in detail.

When you configure a VLAN interface in a Router/Switch product, such as the NetVanta 1335, it automatically creates a connected route to that network and InterVLAN routing is allowed.  However, in your case, you mentioned you have a different "Firewall/Gateway."  This device will need a route to any network/VLAN that is not on its local subnet.  Based on the information you've provided, the "Firewall/Gateway" device would need a route to the 172.16.254.0 subnet with a next hop address of 172.16.3.7.  This traffic should not be NAT'ed, but instead allowed to route, without altering the source address.

I hope that makes sense, but do not hesitate to reply to this post with additional questions or information.  I will be happy to help in any way I can.

Levi

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Jump to solution

:

Thank you for asking this question in the support community.  The document Configuring InterVLAN Routing in AOS covers this topic in detail.