Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
andyjo
New Contributor

NetVanta 1534 as a airborne standalone DHCP/DNS Server

Jump to solution

Hello,

I'm very new to administrating a network, and wanted to very my configuration with some people who know much more than i do!

So the back story... We have some planes with holes in them, and we collect a lot of imagery. We have a small server rack in each plane with anywhere between 4-11 systems. As also have a NetVanta 1534 to connect everything, and since it's on an airplane, we don't have access to the internet, or a router in the configuration, just a bunch of computers an a switch.

So far i've figured out how to configure DHCP, but i was hoping i could use our switch as a standalone DNS server as well, from poking around in the ADTRAN Web Setup it looks like i can do this... but i'm not sure it's done correctly.

In the System->Hostname/DNS i setup a domain name, and set the Primary DNS IP Address to 10.10.10.3

In my DHCP pool i setup the Primary DNS to the same, 10.10.10.3, with the same domain name.

When i connect to the server with one of our systems (just a windows box to test) it gets all the DHCP info, and i can ping around to other servers on the switch. I can even ping by hostnames, but i think it might be resolving hostnames by WINS, not true DNS, because when i try to do a nslookup of a host it times out.

Is there anything i'm missing? I've played with switch configuration a little bit in the past, but nothing this complex.

Thanks!

-Andy

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: NetVanta 1534 as a airborne standalone DHCP/DNS Server

Jump to solution

I ran  a similar configuration on my NV 1234.  Same results when it comes to NSLOOKUP.  I enabled DNS Proxy.  This can be done in global config via CLI by entering "ip domain-proxy", or by checking the "Enable DNS Proxy" check box in the Web GUI.