cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tbayne
New Contributor

Segregating two routed sub-nets and provide internet connectivity (inbound and outbound)

Jump to solution

Good afternoon,

Stating for the record that I am a newb at net working, and with Adtran switches.

I have a 1534P switch.  I have two sub-nets which need to share a single internet connection.

Currently I have internet (50 Mbps) connection terminating at the 1534, port 1, and the subnets at ports 3 and 5.  Each subnet has it's own firewall equipment (Sonicwall in one case, Cisco in the other).

After a bit of playing around things are working, but performance is terrible - roughly 1/10th (or less) of what it should be.  I have "protection" enabled on the ports to which the subnets are connected.

Any suggestions?

Terry

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Segregating two routed sub-nets and provide internet connectivity (inbound and outbound)

Jump to solution

:

There are several things I suggest you change.

• Configure three separate VLANs for each subnet (instead of secondary subnets on one VLAN)
  • Configure the ports to be assigned to the VLANs
  • Add the command ip route-cache express to each VLAN interface
  • Configure the VLAN connected to the Internet connect to 50 Mbps
  • Also make sure the ports connected to the firewalls are negotiated to the proper speed and duplex

Here is an example:

interface vlan 1

description INTERNET CONNECTION

ip address  24.214.206.174  255.255.255.252

traffic-shape rate 50000000

ip route-cache express

no shutdown

interface vlan 2

description FIREWALL 1

ip address 69.73.18.113  255.255.255.240

ip route-cache express

no shutdown

interface vlan 2

description FIREWALL 2

ip address  207.98.167.65  255.255.255.248

ip route-cache express

no shutdown

interface gigabit-switchport 0/3

description SED

no shutdown

switchport access vlan 2

switchport protected

!