cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bohdi12
New Contributor

How do I set up multiple vlans to use the same DHCP server, in the same IP range as eth 0/1?

DISCLAIMER - I am not a switch router guy, and I'm new to Adtran, I know enough to be incompetent, flame on.... these are not my actual ips but close enough to represent

I have a 3448. I bought this because I thought I could use it to limit uploads/download bandwidth per port, which I was told by an Adtran support person this won't really do it at a per switch port level. However reading some of the documents it seems I could implement some class weighted fair quing which might accomplish this. My main goal is to prevent my 15 year old from consuming all the ISP bandwidth downloading game updates, uploading youtube files, and streaming HD media. My current wifi router doesn't give me that capability.

I have wifi router ip at 10.218.9.2, provides DHCP services to 10.218.9.1 - 200 on this router

I have eth 0/1 on 3448 at 10.218.10.2

I have 3448 default gw pointing to 10.218.9.2

-------------------------------------------------------------------

If I can't grab DHCP off wifi router, that's okay, i just need to understand limitations

-------------------------------------------------------------------

I have DHCP pool set to 10.218.9.0 on 3448

I have DHCP pool exclude set to 10.218.9.1 to 10.218.9.200 on 3448

I have vlan 1 (default) set to switchport 1, set to access mode, ip 10.218.15.2 <--- Full bandwidth

I have vlan 2 set to switchport 2, set to access mode, ip 10.218.16.2 <-- Want to limit bandwidth to 3 mb down/up on this link - web, video, files, voip, want to provide 10.219.9.X DHCP to computers, from 10.218.9.2

I have vlan 3 set to switchport 3, set to access mode, ip 10.218.17.2 <-- Want to limit bandwidth to 5 mb down/up on this link - web, video, files, want to provide 10.218.9.X DHCP to computers, from 10.218.9.2