cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
outrider
New Contributor II

Netvanta 7100 Windows domain DHCP problems?

Jump to solution

I am relatively new to Phone systems, I was hired at a company that put me in charge of Networking. We just moved and are in the process of migrating our servers. Just before the move we from a 100.xxx.xxx.xxx schema to a 10.xxx.xxx.xxx schema. We have a Netvanta 7100 with adtran and polycom phones, and I am having huge problems configuring this thing correctly. We have 2 servers as DHCP hosts using options 66 and 157. I thought I had everything working correctly 2 days ago then when I went in today I couldn't get phones that were rebooted to register. I am seeing a lot of bad addresses in dhcp. Which makes me think there is a conflict somewhere. we are running most of the phones(about 50) from the netvanta 7100 ports to switches, then POEs, then the phones.

Old server

PDC- server 2003

New servers

2 x server 2012

1 running a virtual file server and will be running virtual exchange

Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jayh
Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Re: Netvanta 7100 Windows domain DHCP problems?

Jump to solution

We have seen several situations where Windows DHCP servers don't function properly in a multi-VLAN environment.  The failure mode most common to us is as follows:

Data VLAN served by Windows DHCP server.  Phones in separate voice VLAN with a different DHCP server, typically the Adtran IAD.  Phones act in trunk mode, passing data VLAN to a PC plugged in to the pass-through port on the phone.