cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cvandemheen
New Contributor II

Issue when I reboot the PRI Dialogic Card - No channel available - 908e

Jump to solution

sipgw#sh run

Building configuration...

!

!

! ADTRAN, Inc. OS version A4.11.00.E

! Boot ROM version 14.04.00

! Platform: Total Access 908 (2nd Gen), part number 4212908L1

! Serial number XXXXXXXXX

!

!

hostname "sipgw"

enable password encrypted XXXXXXXXXXX

!

!

ip subnet-zero

ip classless

ip routing

!

!

ip domain-name "s2s.int"

ip domain-proxy

!

!

no auto-config

!

event-history on

no logging forwarding

logging facility local0

no logging email

!

service password-encryption

!

username XXXXXXXXXXXXX

!

!

no ip firewall alg msn

no ip firewall alg mszone

no ip firewall alg h323

!

!

!

!

!

no dot11ap access-point-control

!

!

!

!

!

ip dhcp-server pool "Private"

  network 10.10.10.0 255.255.255.0

  netbios-node-type h-node

  default-router 10.10.10.1

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

interface eth 0/1

  encapsulation 802.1q

  no shutdown

!

interface eth 0/1.41

  vlan-id 41

  ip address dhcp

  media-gateway ip primary

  no shutdown

!

!

!

interface t1 0/1

  lbo short 1

  tdm-group 1 timeslots 1-24 speed 64

  shutdown

!

interface t1 0/2

  lbo short 1

  tdm-group 1 timeslots 1-24 speed 64

  no shutdown

!

!

interface pri 1

  isdn name-delivery display

  connect t1 0/2 tdm-group 1

  role network b-channel-restarts disable

  no shutdown

!

!

interface fxs 0/1

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/2

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/3

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/4

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/5

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/6

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/7

  no shutdown

!

interface fxs 0/8

  no shutdown

!

!

isdn-group 1

  connect pri 1

!

!

!

!

timing-source t1 0/2

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

no ip tftp server

no ip tftp server overwrite

no ip http server

no ip http secure-server

no ip snmp agent

no ip ftp server

no ip scp server

no ip sntp server

!

!

!

!

!

!

ip sip

ip sip udp 5060

no ip sip tcp

!

!

!

voice feature-mode network

voice forward-mode network

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

voice dial-plan 1 user1 XXXXXXXXXX

!

!

!

!

voice codec-list s2s

  codec g729

!

!

!

voice trunk T01 type sip

  description "Starbox"

  sip-server primary 10.41.22.99

  authentication username "XXXXX" password encrypted XXXXXX

  register starsip_15292 auth-name "XXXXX" password encrypted XXXXXX

  codec-group s2s

!

voice trunk T02 type isdn

  description "PRI"

  resource-selection linear descending

  connect isdn-group 1

  rtp delay-mode adaptive

  codec-group s2s

!

!

voice grouped-trunk SIP

  trunk T01

  accept $ cost 0

!

!

voice grouped-trunk PRI

  trunk T02

  accept $ cost 0

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

ip sip authenticate

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

no ip sip grammar supported 100rel

!

!

!

ip rtp udp 49152

!

ip sdp grammar hold rfc3264

!

!

line con 0

  no login

!

line telnet 0 4

  no login

  password encrypted

  shutdown

line ssh 0 4

  login local-userlist

  no shutdown

!

!

!

!

!

end

Now this scenario works with the Dialogic Card that we have, but whenever we reboot the Dialogic, we get these issues when calling in:

1970.01.03 01:18:35 TM.T02 23 IsdnTmStateOutboundDeliver - rcvd unexpected CallRelease

1970.01.03 01:18:35 TM.T02 23 IsdnTmStateIdling - clear trunk appearance

1970.01.03 01:18:35 TM.T02 23 IsdnTmStateIdle::ClearCall - unexpected

11:10:15.134 ISDN.RES_MGR Reserving an outbound channel.

11:10:15.135 ISDN.RES_MGR ISDN Channel reserved.

11:10:15.136 ISDN.CC_MSG PRI  1  Host>>CC: 00 802d SETUP_REQ

11:10:15.136 ISDN.CC_IE  PRI  1     ie: 00 04 0A 80 80 80 90 00 00 00 00 00 82

11:10:15.136 ISDN.CC_IE  PRI  1     ie: 00 6C 0F 80 80 80 80 31 34 30 32 33 30 35 37 34 37 35

11:10:15.136 ISDN.CC_IE  PRI  1     ie: 00 70 0C 80 80 37 37 30 37 36 39 31 30 38 39

11:10:15.137 ISDN.CC_IE  PRI  1    Qie: 28 0F 43 65 6C 6C 20 50 68 6F 6E 65 20 20 20 4E 45

11:10:15.137 ISDN.CC_MSG PRI  1  CC>>Host: 02 802d CLEAR_IND

11:10:15.137 ISDN.CC_IE  PRI  1     ie: 00 08 04 00 00 00 A2

11:10:15.138 ISDN.CC_MSG PRI  1  Host>>CC: 02 802d CLEAR_RESP

11:10:15.138 ISDN.CC_IE  PRI  1     ie: 00 08 04 00 00 00 A2

11:10:15.138 ISDN.EP     PRI  1  Call not accepted to 'removed fir security': No channel available

11:10:15.139 ISDN.RES_MGR Releasing outbound channel, called number removed for security.

And to fix this, all I have to do is:

sipgw#config t

sipgw(config)#int pri 1

Configuring Existing PRI interface "1".

sipgw(config-pri 1)#role user

Warning: Any calls that may have been active have been dropped!

sipgw(config-pri 1)#

1970.01.03 01:30:57 ISDN.EP     PRI  1  D channel is DOWN

1970.01.03 01:30:57 INTERFACE_STATUS.pri 1 changed state to down

sipgw(config-pri 1)#

sipgw(config-pri 1)#role network

Warning: Any calls that may have been active have been dropped!

sipgw(config-pri 1)#

1970.01.03 01:31:04 ISDN.EP     PRI  1  D channel is UP

1970.01.03 01:31:04 INTERFACE_STATUS.pri 1 changed state to up

The problem here, is that I should not have to change roles to get the PRI connected. Is there possibly an issue with the Timing? I have a Dialogic Card that has it set to clock from NETREF 1, which was working just fine on the X0 line that was coming in prior to moving to the adtran.

I've been flipping settings on both devices, and have not been able to find a resolution. I can get information on the Dialogic if needed, but it is at a remote site, and will need to get a set of eyes on it.

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
cvandemheen
New Contributor II

Re: Issue when I reboot the PRI Dialogic Card - No channel available - 908e

Jump to solution

PRI side was fine in this case, the PBX side did not attempt to restart channels and was updated. All working correctly at this time.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
cvandemheen
New Contributor II

Re: Issue when I reboot the PRI Dialogic Card - No channel available - 908e

Jump to solution

bump

Any ideas? Scratching my head trying to figure out why I need to drop the interface for it to come back.

Rebooting AdTran does not fix the issue, I need to actually change settings on the int before the calls will hand off again.

jayh
Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Re: Issue when I reboot the PRI Dialogic Card - No channel available - 908e

Jump to solution

You might try turning on B-channel restarts on the PRI of the TA900. This periodically sends a restart message on all channels that the Adtran shows as idle to re-sync status with the remote end. This should cause the Dialogic board to flag the channels as idle.

cvandemheen
New Contributor II

Re: Issue when I reboot the PRI Dialogic Card - No channel available - 908e

Jump to solution

B channels are still saying they are unallocated. How long should I have to wait for the 'periodic' resets? I changed this over, and I have waited over an hour and still no change.

config t

int pri 1

role user

(all channels are dropped and int t1 0/2 and pri 1 both show as down)

role network

(all channels are dropped and int t1 0/2 and pri 1 both show as up)

all channels are now inactive, where they were listed as unallocated.

before

sipgw>show int pri 1

pri 1 is UP

  Switch protocol:  National ISDN 2

  Signaling role:  network (NT) b-channel-restarts enabled

  Ringing signal:  calling TE provides audible ringing

  Calling-party override:  disabled

  Calling-party presentation:  allowed

  Calling-party number:  (no number configured)

  digits transferred all

  ISDN name-delivery:  via Setup msg / Display IE

  progress indicator #8 in alerting message:  enabled

  progress indicator #2 in connect message:  disabled

  progress indicator #1 in setup message:  disabled

  progress indicator #3 in setup message:  disabled

  progress indicator location:  public

  resource-selection: linear ascending

  TBCT:  disabled

  area code:

  Transmission of redirecting numbers is enabled

  Redirecting numbers: sent as received

  Connected interface: t1 0/2 tdm-group 1

  Channel status 123456789012345678901234

                 -----------------------D

    Legend: - = Unallocated        . = Inactive

            A = Active B channel   B = Backup D channel

            D = Active D channel   M = Maintenance

            R = Restart

    449 packets input, 2369 bytes, 0 no buffer

    0 runts, 1 giants, 0 throttles

    10360 input errors, 34 CRC, 4244 frame

    6082 abort, 0 discards, 0 overruns

    453 packets output, 2397 bytes, 0 underruns

after

sipgw#show int pri 1

pri 1 is UP

  Switch protocol:  National ISDN 2

  Signaling role:  network (NT) b-channel-restarts enabled

  Ringing signal:  calling TE provides audible ringing

  Calling-party override:  disabled

  Calling-party presentation:  allowed

  Calling-party number:  (no number configured)

  digits transferred all

  ISDN name-delivery:  via Setup msg / Display IE

  progress indicator #8 in alerting message:  enabled

  progress indicator #2 in connect message:  disabled

  progress indicator #1 in setup message:  disabled

  progress indicator #3 in setup message:  disabled

  progress indicator location:  public

  resource-selection: linear ascending

  TBCT:  disabled

  area code:

  Transmission of redirecting numbers is enabled

  Redirecting numbers: sent as received

  Connected interface: t1 0/2 tdm-group 1

  Channel status 123456789012345678901234

                 .......................D

    Legend: - = Unallocated        . = Inactive

            A = Active B channel   B = Backup D channel

            D = Active D channel   M = Maintenance

            R = Restart

    741 packets input, 3919 bytes, 0 no buffer

    0 runts, 1 giants, 0 throttles

    10360 input errors, 34 CRC, 4244 frame

    6082 abort, 0 discards, 0 overruns

    746 packets output, 3879 bytes, 0 underruns

cvandemheen
New Contributor II

Re: Issue when I reboot the PRI Dialogic Card - No channel available - 908e

Jump to solution

PRI side was fine in this case, the PBX side did not attempt to restart channels and was updated. All working correctly at this time.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos