Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
james-in-ca
New Contributor III

3120 - High CPU Utilization and slowness

Jump to solution

HI all- First Post.

Please bear with me. I am not an IT expert.

We have Ethernet over Copper 6M from Telepacific.

Recently I upgraded from a Bonded T1 (3M) and had an older Adtran. But to use this new service we had to install our own router. I bought and installed, with the assistance of a good Network Tech (who is unavailable this week), this ADTRAN 3120. The previous Adtran switch was managed by my providor. And they took it back. It had served us well for about 6 years anyhow.

This router has been in for about 2 months now. I now have to "manage"  - this router.

Today we are seeing slow speeds "verified" via speedtest.net

Usually very consistently we are right near 5.70 Down 5.20 Up  when there is typical usage in our network.

Today under 4.00 Down 3.50 Up

I was hoping someone can suggest something fairly simple to try to troubleshoot this.

I do not know what would cuase CPU usage, nor do I really understand exactly how it affects our throughput.

Thank You very much for any help.

James:

-------

Here is my Summary:

adtran-summary.jpg

Here is my CPU Utilization summary..

Screen Shot 2012-08-13 at 4.33.22 PM.png

Tags (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 3120 - High CPU Utilization and slowness

Jump to solution

James, I have reviewed your config.  The IP FLow/Top Traffic is causing the high CPU usage. To keep ITM memory and and CPU usage to a minimum, RapidRoute must be enabled on each interface to be monitored using the ip ffe command from the interface configuration mode. I would recommend you take a look at this pdf link below,  also there is some sampling configurations that may alleviate some of the CPU use.  You can verify the IP flow is using up the CPU by disabling the traffic monitoring and then view CPU tasks.