Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jterrence
New Contributor

Multi-site VOIP Issues

Jump to solution

Hello Community,

This is my first time posting here and I'm looking for some ideas/feedback on how to address a problem we are having.  The current configuration existed before I arrived but the problems have never corrected themselves.

We currently operate 32 locations all running over an MPLS network with a cloud style managed firewall.  We have our own PBX system at the corporate office that operates our phone system across this network.  Each of our 32 locations has their own T1 connection/s that carry both phone and data.  We are using 3100 and 3400 series adtran routers at each location.  Our ISP who manages the firewall has a second Adtran router that they manage that provides our QOS and traffic control for the most part.

We are having issues with phone quality on a regular basis.  This quality is accompanied by a high level of dropped packets during those times of poor quality.  We have been trying to work with out provider to have the QOS modified but it seems as though they are using QOS profiles and we can't seem to eliminate the loss of packets no matter how the modify their end.

With 32 locations and each being a smaller office we would need to be able to setup something up that works at each site.  A hard limit on traffic by IP or port would be ideal.  Our internet traffic speed is never business critical since we aren't a point of sale type business.  I've looked into some of the options on limiting by port but didn't see that as an option on the 3100 series...am I correct?(Mostly 3120s)  The 3400 series though seemed like it was possible?(3448 currently in use)

I'm open to suggestions and or configuration ideas that don't involve dumping the whole system...buying 32 new routers or trying to change our provider.  Thanks for sharing your ideas.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable