Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bgreen
New Contributor

NetVanta 4305 w/Octal Bonding - Newbie question

Jump to solution

Hi all.

New here and to AdTran in general.  Would really appreciate some advice on resources.

My company is purchasing 2 NetVanta 4305 chassis and 2 Octal T1/E1 modules based on recommendations by vendors.  We will be using seven T1's for a point to point connection from Nebraska to Texas.  Yes, I know it seems odd, but to get ~10Mb, that was the best/most cost effective option we had.  I'm trying to track down a book, or other resource to learn how to do the actual bonding of the lines.  I have some Cisco experience, but nothing with AdTran.  If need be, I will hire someone to configure the routers, but I would really feel better having the knowledge to do it myself.

Thanks in advance for any pointers, links, or personal experience that anyone can offer.

in

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: NetVanta 4305 w/Octal Bonding - Newbie question

Jump to solution

Brian:

If I understand the diagram and application, then there are many ways you could design/configure this.  Here is one suggestion:

Option 1 = Have the Internet/MPLS routers route the EMC traffic

NE Location:

• Have the EMC use the Cisco 2600 as the default-gateway
  • On the Cisco 2600, have a route to the EMC's IP address at TX point to the next hop IP address of the LAN IP address of the ADTRAN NetVanta in NE
  • On the ADTRAN NetVanta at NE, have a default-route that points to the MLPPP IP address of the TX NetVanta (this will be a new subnet, such as 192.168.99.0 /30; 192.168.99.1 could be the NE MLPPP IP address and 192.168.99.2 could be the TX MLPPP IP address)

TX Location:

• Have the EMC use the AT&T router as the default-gateway
  • On the AT&T router, have a route to the EMC's IP address at NE point to the next hop IP address of the LAN IP address of the ADTRAN NetVanta in TX